645 Poplar St, Terre Haute IN 47807, USA

Music for the Second Sunday after Trinity

To His Supper leads us all   Johann Olearius wrote the HYMN OF THE DAY, “Oh, How Great is Your Compassion” (559) based on today’s Holy Gospel.  It was published in 1671.

Olearius (1611-1684) was educated in Wittenberg and was court preacher and chaplain at Halle and Weissenfels.  He was the author of hundreds of hymns and a Bible commentary.

Our Lord saves us from “our depth of degradation” – suffering from the world, the devil, and our own sinful nature – by calling us to His Supper, where the Spirit witnesses “in Your Sacraments and Word.”  In five stanzas, a wealth of Christian doctrine is covered: sin and grace, the Sacraments, the Word of God, and God’s mercy and salvation.  Thanks be to Our Lord for this poetic gift to His Church at the hands of Johann Olearius.

You had mercy so that we, Might be saved eternally!

   The PRELUDE is a partita of six movements by south-German organist Johann Pachelbel (1653-1706).  You will hear the hymn tune throughout the variations, sometimes plainly, other times more elaborately, concluding with the sixth movement with the melody in the bass line, played by the pedal.

The introduction to the hymn is a setting by Kevin Hildebrand (b. 1973), kantor at Concordia Theological Seminary in Fort Wayne.


Today’s VOLUNTARY is “Locus iste a Deo factus est” by Anton Bruckner (1824-1896).  The text is the Gradual for the dedication of a church, inspired by Genesis 28.16 and Exodus 3.5.  Bruckner composed this motet for the dedication of a chapel in Linz, Austria, in 1869 and it was published in 1886.

The lessons are Proverbs 9.1–10; 1 John 3.13-18; and St. Luke 14.15–24.
The hymns are: 754 Entrust Your Days and Burdens
559 Oh, How Great is Your Compassion
510 A Multitude Comes from the East and the West
839 O Christ, Our True and Only Light
623 Lord Jesus Christ, We Humbly Pray
683 Jesus, Thy Boundless Love to Me
823 May God Bestow on Us His Grace
Prelude: Oh, How Great is Your Compassion -Johann Pachelbel
Choral Voluntary: Locus iste -Anton Bruckner

Leave a comment